Family ID: 2904644

Children: 3 Children, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Mobility support, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

City: Dunwoody / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Bob

State Georgia

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: May 2024 - Aug 2024

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 2 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
2
Added as favorite 2 time in the last 3 weeks
54
Profile Visited by 54 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
72%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello au pair candidate – I am so very pleased that you are interested in potentially joining our family as an au pair. I’d like to tell you a bit about us, and this opportunity.

We live in a suburb of Atlanta called Dunwoody (population of about 48,000 people). Dunwoody is a great place to raise a family. Most adults in our community are working professionals with children. Within just a few miles from our home you will find all the goods and services necessary for daily living. A local landmark, located close to our home, is the Perimeter Mall, which is a well-known regional shopping center.

Atlanta is a thriving city. It is sometimes described as the capital of the southern portion of the United States. The city is accessible by a 20 minute drive. The Atlanta International airport, the world’s busiest airport, is a 30-45 minute drive, depending upon traffic. You will have access to a car, but public transportation (bus and train) is also available. The local train is called MARTA. There are two MARTA stations within a 10 minute drive of our home. MARTA goes directly to the airport and provides access to most of the area attractions such as the Georgia Aquarium, the Coca-Cola museum, the Mercedes-Benz stadium, and more. Atlanta has teams for all major sports, including a soccer team, Atlanta United FC. Atlanta has been chosen as a host city for the FIFA World Cup in 2026.
More ⇩

Job Description

My former wife and I each have the children on alternate weeks. This means you would have a normal amount of work to do every other week. The alternative weeks, when the kids are away, your workload will be minimal.

An important aspect of this job is for you to confidently care for my children when I need to travel for my work. Sometimes I will need to travel several days in a row.

Overall, the workload for this job will not be high. Here is a brief outline of what my expectations are for this role:

Normal household duties, such as meal planning and preparation, dishes, cleaning, laundry, organizing, etc.

When school is in session, getting the kids to the bus stop, which is less than 10 minutes away, and picking them up from the bus stop. On some days it will be necessary to drive them directly to school, which is typically between a 20 minute and 45 minute drive each way depending upon traffic.

Helping my kids with their homework. With Nathan an essential task will be to ensure he is aware of all of his assignments and turns them in on time. You will need to possess the organizational skills necessary to do this every day when school is in session. Even though Abigail is younger, she does not need nearly the same level of monitoring as Nathan does. She is extremely diligent and self-sufficient.

Taking care of all shopping, including grocery shopping and dry goods. Most dry goods we purchase from Amazon so my expectation is that you will be able to make these purchases and manage returns as necessary. There is an Amazon return drop off location as short distance from our home. Also, driving my children to appointments and other activities.

On weekdays when school is not in session, such as holidays and summer vacation, helping structure activities for my kids and / or spending time with them. Most days I will be working during business hours.

Walking and caring for our dogs, Nova and Oliver. One of the responsibilities may be walking our dog and pick up her solid waste and throwing it away when you get back home. We have plastic bags designed for this purpose.

Taking care of errands in the community as necessary, such as going to the dry cleaners, getting a car cleaned or serviced, etc.

My 89-year-old mother lives in her own private living space on the bottom floor of the house. Currently, she is able to live independently. However, she will need some help occasionally. This would involve meal preparation, cleaning her living space, doing laundry, and driving her to appointments. We can discuss this more.

Lastly, maintaining a safe, orderly, and comfortable household for all of us. Safety and security are top priorities for me.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 45-60

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single father

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Very important

Employment Government employee

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 13 Year male
10 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 100 USD

Salary of Caregiver for elderly (per month) 1100 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date May 2024

Latest Starting Date Aug 2024

Looking for Au Pair and Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience 10-50

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Mobility support, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Austrian, Belgian, British, Bulgarian, Cambodian, Canadian, Chilean, Chinese, Colombian, Croatian, Cypriots, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Ecuadorian, English, Estonian, Fijian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Greenlander, Guatemalan, Hungarian, Icelandic, Irish, Israeli, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Liechtensteinian, Lithuanian, Luxembourgian, Maltese, Mexican, New Zealander, Nicaraguan, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Roman, Romanian, Russian, Scottish, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss, Taiwanese, Thai, Ukrainian, Venezuelan, Vietnamese, Welsh

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Upper intermediate (B2)
- or -
 English, Minimum Upper intermediate (B2)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 18-45

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Our house was built in 1993 and has been well-maintained. You will have your own private bedroom which measures 11’ x 13’ and includes a closet where you can hang clothes and put them on a shelf. I am happy to have the walls painted to whatever color(s) you would like. Currently, there is not a TV in the room, but I can place one there if you wish.

The are two windows – one faces our neighbor’s house, the other faces a wooded area. There is a bathroom just outside of your bedroom door which will be your bathroom. The kids sometimes us that bathroom, but often use my bathroom because it’s larger. If having an exclusive bathroom is essential to you we can make that arrangement.

Our house is a spacious three floor structure and includes several common area rooms, as well as a large back deck overlooking the woods. There are plenty of places to spend time alone – or with others - outside of your room.

I will seek to provide you with whatever is necessary for your well-being, and to make you feel comfortable in our home. For instance, if fitness is important to you, I’d be happy to discuss with you options for a fitness club membership paid for in part or in full by me.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »