Family ID: 985412

Children:: 4 Children:, 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Hamburg / Big City | More ⇩

Name Ann-Kristin

State Hamburg

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2020 - Mar 2020

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 29 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
5
Profile Visited by 5 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair,

thank you for taking the time to read our profile. We try to give you good insights about us, our life and what we are looking for.

We are a happy and fun family of 6 with 4 boys, aged 6, 4 and 2 identical twin boys that just turned 1 in April! All of our boys are really sweet - and i am not saying that because they are mine :-).

I know a family with 4 small kids must sound "challenging" from an aupairs perspective and and maybe like a too stressful option, but we are not that bad (we ve hosted three aupairs from the US, none of them wanted to leave and they are more than happy to share their experiences as a reference). First, we are very organized, which gives us and all of our kids the necessary structure for the day. This way everybody is quite relaxed and there is no major "chaos". Second, you are not alone - I am in maternity leave for a year now and I have support from my mother-in-law who is truely an angel for our family. Third, we are a whole lot of fun and everyone who lived with us really blended in and had a very good time. And fourth, Hamburg is one of the nicest cities in Germany!

Hamburg is in the North of Germany, we live about 30 minutes from downtown in a very green and nice neighbourhood. We have built our house in 2016 and we love our home a lot. We have a big garden for the kids and a large patio to hang out in the sun.

Both of us, my husband and I, are very open and fun to be around with. We both work in leading positions in large companies and we enjoy our kids as our hobby ;) but besides that, travelling, sports, good food, meeting with friends - we can say, we enjoy life and live it to the fullest as much as we can.

At 15 years old, Ann-Kristin has spent several years in the US and still has a very close connection to her former host family, so she knows how it feels to be somewhere else, but remembers these times as one of the best in teenage and college years!

So why don't you get in touch and maybe stay with us?! We are very excited to hear from you and to get to know you!

The Family
More ⇩

Job Description

We are looking for a responsible, self-contained, caring & fun au pair with the right amount of assertiveness with the boys and who is willing to integrate into our family and be part of it. We will do our very best to make you feel comfortable and respected.

Ideally, you know basic German, but English is the requirement, as we all are very communicative and with little kids, we have made the experience, that basic German helps a lot in order to connect with them and to get through the visa processing. The kids have been around English speaking au pairs for over two years then, so they can understand basic English.

What we expect:
- support with everyday routine meals/ getting dressed/ getting ready for bed at night or for school / daycare in the mornings.
- bring (8am) or pick the kids up from kindergarden/ daycare at around 3pm
- watch the kids after daycare and school
- support in light household work (laying the table, fill or empty the dishwasher, prepare meals for the older kids if neccessary, do the laundry, vacuumclean in the dining room if the kids made a mess - no cleaning, except for your room maybe, we do have a cleaning lady on top)
- if possible, join us on family vacations

"Qualifications" and personality:
- profound experience in taking care of small children
- responsible and value-driven
- emotionally intelligent, caring and good at heart
- psycologically stable
- able to communicate feelings and needs
- motivated and willing to work
- able to prepare meals for the kids
- good manners to serve as a role model for the kids, willing to adapt to German manners, especially around dining, as they are very important to us.
- flexible and adaptable in new environments and situations
- pragmatic and hands-on
- English fluent, basic German knowlegde
- Optional: Drivers License with several years experience as a safe driver

This could be roughly the weekly routine for you:
- every other morning (when Flo is on a business trip): Help with the kids to get dressed for daycare or school.
- Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: bring the babies & Philipp to daycare at around 8am. It is only a short walk to get there.
- Monday, Tuesday, Friday: Pick them up at around 3pm and watch them, do a fruit snacktime and have until approximately 6pm when they all get ready for dinner and bed afterwards.
- Regular Wednesdays & Thursdays: My mother-in-law is here to take care of either 2 of the 4 boys. Either your are "off" or you would help me with the babies.
- (help) Prepare Dinner for the kids and for ourselves. We mostly try to have dinner together, so its team work here.
- (help) with the daily evening routine before they go to bed at around 8pm
- help me around the house with light household work (stated abaove)
- occasionally babysit at night during the week and 1 evening on weekends
- On weekends you are free unless we need support, but that is all a matter of communication.

We both work a lot. Ann is working from home on Fridays. She is working part-time and comes home in the afternoon. Renée is supporting us Wednesday and Thursday.

In Germany au pair working time is "officially regulated" (of course) at a max. of 30 hours at 6 days a week. You will not have more hours than that. You have 2 weeks of vacation per halfyear, so 1 month per year. We try to take all this as a rough guideline, as I am home we are a bit more flexible with everything in case you would like to do something out of that routine.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality German

Languages spoken at home German

Religion Protestant

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Head of Department

People living in the house 6

Children's/People's age and gender 4 (2013, 2015, 2018)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2020

Latest Starting Date Mar 2020

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Australian, Austrian, Canadian, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, Icelandic, Irish, New Zealander, Norwegian, Swedish, Swiss

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

Required Education Level High school

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 4

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 260 EUR

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? ja

Required Age 21-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The Au Pair can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We have a very nice and comfortable room in the basement with natural light, TV and WLAN. You will have your own shower in the ground floor.
Au Pair in Germany - program information

Read More »
Visa regulations for the Au Pair program in Germany

Read More »
Au Pair in Germany: requirements for EU and Non-EU citizens

Read More »