Family ID: 1492793

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Winterbourne / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Rachel

State Bristol

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Feb 2020 - Apr 2020

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 7 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
33
Profile Visited by 33 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
54%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We are an English-French family, who have just moved to the Bristol area in South West UK from France. We are settling in here where all is green and the people are very warm. The new adventure means new jobs, new schools and a new English way of life. Come and help us enjoy family life where the school day is 9-3.

We live in Winterbourne just outside Bristol city. Bristol is a lively city with a great music scene and a large university. Bristol is just a 30min bus ride away with a bus that passes our house 1/hr.
The countryside is beautiful for those interested. Nearby are the historic town of Bath and the prehistoric Stonehenge.
I am new to the area too but I have always been told it is a wonderful place to live!
These links give ideas for in and around Bristol, including free options:

https://www.bristolpost.co.uk/whats-on/whats-on-news/free-things-to-do-bristol-10719
https://visitbristol.co.uk/things-to-do
https://www.headfirstbristol.co.uk/gigs-and-live-music

Also London is only 1hr 15min on the train from the closest train station to our house!

There are a number of language schools in Bristol, I do not know where they all are exactly - you could attend 10/10:30 until ~14 or in the evening.
More ⇩

Job Description

Above all I hope that you will be friends with the children and you will play happily together. Also important is ensuring they are looked after - such as dressed and fed, taken to and collected from school or activities 4 days/week with warm and gentle care.

Our typical day is to be established here yet but I imagine will be as follows: Alidor leaves before 7am, I will leave before 8am (I work 4days/week) and the children will need breakfast and to get dressed for school at 9am. *free time* School finishes at about 3/3:30pm and the children will need collecting. 1 or 2 days a week Alastair may attend an after school club until 4:3pm or there may be an activity elsewhere. The children have an after school snack and play or bath. I expect to be home for 6pm most days to cook dinner. Some days I will be later and need help preparing the childrens' dinner. Once or twice a week Alidor and I will go out in the evening (otherwise *free time*).
There are 2 additions to the routine hours:
1 - if a child is slightly unwell and cannot attend school and you do not have a prior arrangement then you will look after them. Of course if they are very unwell then Alidor or I will stay at home!
2 - school holidays are to be planned and you will have extra hours during those times - which will most likely include fun outings.

In terms of light housework you will be expected to clean and tidy after the children when they are in your care - clearing the table/cleaning up spills/tidying toys/etc and the children are to help too! It goes without saying that you are to clean and tidy after yourself too.

It is not essential to have a driving licence as the school and a few shops are just a few minutes walk from the house. Also Bristol centre is just 30min away on the bus that passes our house hourly. However it would probably be convinient to drive as it would give greater flexibility and allow greater access to parks and playgrounds.
You should know that the children do not use phones/ipads/computers nor do they watch TV at home.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 35-50

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English, French

Religion Christian

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Engineer

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender boy 5
girl 3

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Earliest Starting Date Feb 2020

Latest Starting Date Apr 2020

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Preferred Nationalities Andorran, Australian, Austrian, Belgian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, New Zealander, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss, Yugoslavian

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 80 GBP

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 19-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We have a lovely home full of light. The main living space is an open plan living/dining/kitchen area where we spend most of our time. This room has long patio doors to the garden.
Downstairs there is also a study/guest room and a separate WC.
Upstairs there is a bathroom with bath and walk-in shower, the children share a bedroom, there is our room and there is an aupair bedroom. The aupair room is pleasant and looks over gardens with an empty wardrobe and chest of drawers for your use. This room is not large and you can of course use the study for studying or retreating to if you wish.
There is wifi in the house.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »