Family ID: 1711353

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Manassas / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Whitney

State Virginia

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2021 - Mar 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 13 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
38
Profile added to the favorite list of 38 candidates in the last 3 weeks
251
Profile Visited by 251 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
4%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello, Au Pair!

We are so excited to begin this journey with you! We are the s and we would love to share our lives in America with you for at least a year. We have a full house with two adults, myself (Whitney, mom), Alex (dad), two children - Asher (daughter, 5), Wesley (son, 3), two dogs - Crispin (toy poodle, 15!!), Willow (Irish Setter, 6), and Johnny and Cash our two, lovable sibling cats.

We live in Manassas, Virginia, about 45 minutes west of Washington, D.C. There is a commuter train that picks up in downtown Manassas which is a five minute drive from our home that could take you all the way into the city to learn all about the foundation and heart of the US and our government. We are also less than 40 minutes from the Appalachian trail and Blue Ridge Mountains where you will find many places to hike and camp.

Alex and I both work full-time, five days a week. Our children wake up at 6am, but your work day would typically not need to start before 8am, though we would love for you to join us for breakfast. Asher is currently attending kindergarten virtually via Zoom and will need light supervision to make sure she stays on task. Wesley will be home every day and I would love for you to take them outside as often as possible as it is important that they stay active!

Wesley was diagnosed with a genetic disease called MPS1 or Hurler’s Disease in February of 2020. He received a bone marrow transplant at the height of the COVID pandemic and still does not have a fully recovered immune system. He is a beautiful, happy, healthy looking little boy, but his health is fragile and must be of the utmost concern to anyone we bring into our home. He will be receiving services from the local school system, which may involve specialists visiting the home or him needing to attend partial-day preschool.

Asher is a fun, spunky, wanna-be teenager. She would love to have a young woman who loves makeup and fashion, but that is certainly not a requirement! She is extremely intelligent and quick-witted and will keep you on your toes and will shower you with affection. She is a phenomenal human being and I feel lucky that she chose me to be her mother.

It is easy for me to describe our ideal au pair. They must be open to loving our family and to being loved equally by us. They must hold Wesley and his needs close to their heart always and understand that some sacrifices may need to be made in order to keep him safe (quarantine is not easy!). We fully support safe travel to outdoor venues with limited people. We must insist that our au pair does not visit indoor dining restaurants or venues, that they do not go into other people’s homes, and that they adhere to our state mandates requiring face coverings when out of the house.

Our family is the most important thing in our lives. We live to protect our children and help them thrive. Bringing an au pair into our home is for their benefit as much as it is for ours. We truly believe being exposed to other cultures is a life-changing experience and we want to provide that opportunity to them as much as possible.

We look forward to meeting you and getting to know you even more! We think of ourselves as an extremely loving, generous, loyal bunch and we will work hard to make sure you enjoy your time in our home!
Sincerely,
The s
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes
Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 35-50

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Other

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Sales / Driver

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 5, female
3, make

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2021

Latest Starting Date Mar 2021

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 800 USD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 18-40

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Our Au Pair will have their own bedroom with queen bed and desk as well as a bathroom that would only be used minimally by the family as it is on the lower level. They will also have a relaxing area with a couch and TV outside of their bedroom. Their living space is on the lowest level of a three-story townhome so they will have quite a bit of privacy.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »