au pair

My Au Pair experience as a Mexican Au Pair in Bavaria

by Salma on Jul 14, 2020
My experience as a Mexican Au Pair in Bavaria, Germany
Hello everybody!
I’m Salma, I’m 23 years old and I’m an Au Pair from Mexico.
 
This is my last month with the family and I have a lot of emotions but it has been wonderful.
To be honest, the first 2 months I felt so sad that I wanted to go back to my country but the family was so nice with me that we created a beautiful relationship and now I can say that they are like a second family. I will always be grateful to them.
 
My family lives in a small town, Brunnenthal in Bavaria, Germany. I take care of two little boys who are two and ten years old. I reached the A2 level with German language skills and it was more complicated because most people in Bavaria speak dialect but after almost one year I can say that my listening comprehension has improved. Thank God the family spoke some English, that made the communication easier.
 
My daily routine is to stay with the children in the mornings and part of the afternoons. Most of the time we speak in English. We play in the garden, go for a walk, go to the playground, prepare dinner with the parents or go to the supermarket.
 
I can say that my family is the best because they have been flexible, so I have had the chance to visit many places, for example, Hamburg, Trier, Frankfurt, Bamberg, Denmark and I had the chance to go to the Oktoberfest last year.
 
Of course there are things I like and I don’t like. I love the daily life organization. One of the things I don’t like is that everything is closed on Sunday and that’s normally my day off. But one of the things that has really surprised me is to see fifty or sixty-year-old people riding the bike. This is something I have never seen and that I will never see in Mexico.
 
I would like to say to future Au Pairs that this programme is really amazing. At the beginning you feel scared and nervous but you will not regret it!
 
Best wishes,
Salma 
 
Some Thoughts...
Leave a comment:
Join our community
AuPair.com is social - visit our social media accounts, join our community and receive latest updates from the Au Pairs' world
Subscribe to our newsletter:
Subscription as:
Au Pair
Host Family
By signing up, you agree to receive communications from AuPair.com. You may withdraw your consent at any time.
Join us
Are you looking forward to starting the Au Pair program? AuPair.com will help you find your future Au Pair / Host Family.
Register with us and get to know what we can do for you: