Family ID: 2941590

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

City: New York City suburbs / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Jennifer

State New York

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jul 2024 - Aug 2024

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 1 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
0
Added as favorite 0 time in the last 3 weeks
52
Profile Visited by 52 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello!

We are an experienced host family living just north of New York City in a quiet suburb. We are searching for a Norwegian-speaking au pair to help with our two boys. We've included information here but we would love to tell you more and learn more about you.

If you speak Norwegian, please contact us if this opportunity interests you!
More ⇩

Job Description

The au pair's responsibilities are mostly in the morning getting the boys ready for school and then after they come home. During the school year, the schedule is pretty routine: breakfast, school, karate/tennis/basketball or other after-school activity, homework, instruments, dinner, bedtime. Driving and keeping the boys' activity schedule is a large part of the job.

The boys can eat, shower and dress by themselves (with some reminders, i.e. nagging….), but need laundry cleaned, some help with homework and meals prepped if Mom isn’t home.

Dad was Norwegian and the boys are learning the language so they can speak to relatives when we visit them every year. We have had 2 Norwegian au pairs and an online tutor during Covid. Part of the au pair's task will be to speak in Norwegian with the boys in regular conversation so it becomes part of their lives.

The majority of the au pair work is during the week, so you would have weekends off! The position also comes with a paid phone and we are always open to input on activities and meals.

In our home, the au pair is an adult and will always be treated as such. They are viewed as a member of the family and a partner in caring for the boys.

We would love to get to know you better and share our story with you via video chat!
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 45-60

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single mother

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, Norwegian

Religion

Importance of religion

Employment Finance director

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 14 Year male
14 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 800 USD

Salary of Nanny (per month) 800 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jul 2024

Latest Starting Date Aug 2024

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 100-200

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Danish, Norwegian

Language Skills
 Norwegian, Minimum Native Language
- Select -
 English, Minimum Advanced (C1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? -

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

In New York, we live in a really cool house and have a huge yard. The boys and mom have separate rooms and bathrooms upstairs. Our current guest bedroom is downstairs waiting for you along with another full bathroom next to the guest room.

You need a driver’s license but we have a car for you to drive (Jeep Cherokee). You can also freely use the car on your days off to get around and explore.

There will be a house cleaner that comes weekly to clean the house and bathrooms. She will clean the boys’ rooms but the au pair is responsible for making sure they clean any messes they make by reminding them to keep their rooms tidy.

We live in Westchester County, NY which is just north of New York City. It’s about a 35-minute train ride from the city and a 10-minute drive to White Plains NY, a fun local city with lots to do, like shopping, restaurants, etc. We live on the grounds of a golf course, so there is very little traffic and it is very safe and quiet--it's like living in a private park. There are many local parks and hiking areas nearby as well.

There are many, many au pairs in the local area and they create a strong network for meeting friends.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »