Family ID: 3097308

Children: 3 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Need Tutor for: French, Spanish

Can engage the kids in: Homework Assistance, Book Reading, Art & Craft, Drawing & Cutting, Numbers & Counting, Letters & Sounds, Mind Games & Activity, Songs & Poetry

City: Vancouver / Big City | More ⇩

Name Courtney

State British Columbia

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jun 2024 - Oct 2024

Time of stay: 2-24 Months

Last action: 16 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
2
Added as favorite 2 time in the last 3 weeks
65
Profile Visited by 65 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
25%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We are a family of five living in Vancouver, Canada. We have three young children, ages 2 (boy), 4 (boy) and 6 (girl). We enjoy living in Vancouver because of the beautiful natural landscape, variety of outdoor activities, and diverse cultural opportunities found throughout the city.

We have a private, one-bedroom suite in our home and we are hoping to find an aupair or live-in language tutor for our children. We hope to immerse our children in French and/or Spanish at home but neither of us parents knows French/Spanish fluently. We speak English with our children so we would love to have someone spend time with our children while educating them in another language.

Schedule:
We listed that the requested hours are in the range of 15-20 hours per week but we are open to discussing this to best support the Aupair's schedule and needs as well.
During the Summer, our schedule is very flexible because our kids are off school. An example schedule could be a variation of 2-3 half days a week (morning or afternoon), or 2 full days a week. Other than that, we will spend some time in Whistler at our cabin this Summer, so the au pair is welcome to come live with us there while we are there if they have none of their own commitments in Vancouver (we have a private bedroom and bathroom available for them there). They are welcome to stay with us in Whistler for as many days as they are able to, or we can just focus on a schedule for while we are in Vancouver if they are not interested or available to travel with us.
When the children are in school (September-mid June), they are at school during the day and come home around 3 PM. The schedule would then focus more on either the early mornings (before school) or afternoons (after school) - or weekends.

Role:
To play with and supervise our children while they are at home. You can make use of our home and backyard to engage the children, read with them, draw or make crafts, play outside, or do educational/language projects. When the kids get home from school, they usually want time to decompress, eat snacks, read or play. We are hoping that an aupair/tutor could simply spend time alongside them and speak in French and/or Spanish as much as possible. The priority is to spend more time with our older two children (4 and 6) when they are home from school. Our youngest (2) can also participate but we want to focus more on the older children at the moment. So the role would consist of spending time with 1 or 2 kids at a time - it would not involve all three kids at once. I am not working outside of the home at the moment, so I would spend time with our youngest to prepare dinner or get household work done while the older two are spending time with the aupair.

Compensation:
We are happy to offer a competitive rate for a candidate with language expertise and previous experience with children.

House proximity to city centre:
We are located in the Kerrisdale neighbourhood which is approximately 15 minutes by car from the downtown business district. We are quite centrally located from a variety of popular areas; including South Granville, Kitsilano, Mount Pleasant, and UBC.

Transportation:
We are two blocks from West 41st Avenue and only several blocks from Granville street. Both streets are major bus routes.
More ⇩

Job Description

A background in working with children would be strongly valued, such as ECE, teaching or previous aupair work.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Canadian

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Housewife / Dentist

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender 6 Year female
4 Year male
2 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 15 - 20

Pocket Money of Au Pair, Live-in Tutor (per month) 1500 CAD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 2-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jun 2024

Latest Starting Date Oct 2024

Looking for Au Pair and Live-in Tutor

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

We need a tutor who can teach French, Spanish

How old are the students the Tutor should teach? Toddlers (2-3), Preschoolers (4-5) & Primary school (6-12)

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Austrian, British, Canadian, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, Italian, Mexican, Spanish, Swiss

Language Skills
 French, Minimum Mastery (C2)
- or -
 Spanish, Minimum Mastery (C2)

Education Level University

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? yes

Required Age 25-45

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

There is a private one-bedroom suite included. It has a bedroom with a queen bed, a kitchenette, separate washer/dryer, bathroom, and separate entrance with an alarm system. There is a TV and Netflix account available in the suite. Wifi is also included.
Become an Au Pair in Canada: program information

Read More »
Au Pair in Canada: insurance and contract

Read More »
Become an Au Pair in Canada: the requirements and process

Read More »